Leading House

The University of St.Gallen, through its Institute of Management in Latin America (GIMLA), has been mandated by the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI), to act as Leading House granting incentives and developing joint research cooperation projects with the Latin American region.

Leading Houses are Swiss Research Institutions mandated to pursue bilateral cooperation and develop scientific relations with priority partners in key countries that represent great potential for Swiss scientific and technological expansion. In its role as the Leading House for the Latin America region, the University of St.Gallen (i) represents the interests of the Swiss scientific community vis-à-vis its Latin American partners, (ii) advise and share experiences with the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI), (iii) develops and manages funding instruments to promote bilateral cooperation between international teams, (iv) ensures the communication of opportunities for cooperation with the Swiss research and innovation community, liaising with the scientific departments of Latin American and Swiss Embassies and with the Swissnex network.

An overview of funding opportunities and upcoming calls can be found on this website. For more information and updates on specific calls and funding instruments, please visit our website regularly or contact the program administrator.

Exploratory Wine Research Mission – Call

The Exploratory Wine Research Mission aims to approximate researchers from Swiss universities to the Argentinian and Brazilian science and innovation landscape.

It is an opportunity to visit production sites, attend events, meet potential research partners, and get to know the local environment with the support of the Leading House for the Latin American Region in partnership with Swissnex in Brazil.

The call is designed for researchers who plan to or already develop bilateral collaboration with Latin American universities, working on wine-related topics, and who want to create a network of contacts for future research projects.

Please find the subscription form and detailed call down below:

Exploratory Wine Research Mission – Call

Exploratory Wine Research Mission – Form

Leading House Contacts

Vanessa Boanada Fuchs

Prof. PhD

Director

St.Gallen Institute of Management in Latin America
Av. Paulista 1754, conjunto 153

01 310-200 São Paulo

Letícia Vargas Bento

Ph.D.

Program Manager, Research Programs

GIMLA, c/o CLS-HSG, Leading House for Latin America
Büro 51-7004
Müller-Friedberg-Strasse 6/8
9000 St. Gallen

Rocío Robinson

PhD

Program Manager, Innovation Programs

GIMLA, c/o CLS-HSG, Leading House for Latin America / SSLAS
Büro 51-7004
Müller-Friedberg-Strasse 6/8
9000 St. Gallen

Andrea Güpfert

Administrator, Research Programs

GIMLA, c/o CLS-HSG, Leading House for Latin America
Büro 51-7004
Müller-Friedberg-Strasse 6/8
9000 St. Gallen

Leading House: In a Nutshell

In the Leading House model, selected Swiss institutes of higher education are commissioned by the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) to set up cooperation instruments for seed funding and innovative pilot projects under the framework of the bilateral programmes. This has proved to be a useful and efficient format for establishing privileged contacts and testing new instruments of research and innovation cooperation. Between 2017 and 2020, more than 500 pilot research and innovation activities with these new countries and regions received funding. In consultation with the Rectors' Conference swissuniversities, has commissioned for the period in 2021 to 2024 the University of St.Gallen with the Leading House in Latin America (from SERI website).

Funding Opportunities

The Early Career Grants (ECG) aim to promote research in all Latin American countries and to support fieldwork in the region

The Academia-Industry Training (AIT) is a start-up accelerator program to support young scientists from Switzerland, Brazil, Colombia and Mexico.

The aim of the Consolidation Grant (COG) is to fund advanced, solid projects that bridge the gap between smaller instruments and larger funding calls (e.g. SNSF projects).

The aim of the Research Partnership Grants (RPG) is to strengthen or initiate scientific exchange between researchers from Swiss and Latin American institutions in all disciplines by enabling them to conduct joint preliminary research and organize meetings, conferences or workshops.

north

Leading House

Die Universität St. Gallen wurde vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) beauftragt, über ihr Institut für Management in Lateinamerika (GIMLA) als Leading House Anreize zu geben und gemeinsame Forschungskooperationsprojekte mit der Region Lateinamerika zu entwickeln.

Leading Houses sind Schweizer Forschungsinstitutionen, die den Auftrag haben, bilaterale Kooperationen zu pflegen und wissenschaftliche Beziehungen zu prioritären Partnern in Schlüsselländern aufzubauen, die ein großes Potenzial für die wissenschaftliche und technologische Expansion der Schweiz darstellen. In ihrer Rolle als Leading House für die Region Lateinamerika vertritt die Universität St. Gallen (i) die Interessen der Schweizer Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft gegenüber ihren lateinamerikanischen Partnern, (ii) berät das Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) und tauscht mit ihm Erfahrungen aus, (iii) entwickelt und verwaltet Finanzierungsinstrumente zur Förderung der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit zwischen internationalen Teams, (iv) stellt die Kommunikation von Kooperationsmöglichkeiten mit der Schweizer Forschungs- und Innovationsgemeinschaft sicher und arbeitet mit den wissenschaftlichen Abteilungen der lateinamerikanischen und schweizerischen Botschaften sowie mit dem Swissnex-Netzwerk zusammen.

Einen Überblick über Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten und kommende Ausschreibungen findest du auf dieser Website. Für weitere Informationen und Aktualisierungen zu bestimmten Ausschreibungen und Förderinstrumenten besuche bitte regelmäßig unsere Website oder kontaktiere den Programmadministrator.

Update Forschungsmöglichkeiten

Informationen über den Early Career Grant 2023 werden ab Freitag 24.11.23 um 14h00 CET online gestellt. Abgabetermin ist am 31.01.24 um 23:59 CET.

Leading House Kontakte

Vanessa Boanada Fuchs

Prof. PhD

Director

St.Gallen Institute of Management in Latin America
Av. Paulista 1754, conjunto 153

01 310-200 São Paulo

Letícia Vargas Bento

Ph.D.

Program Manager, Research Programs

GIMLA, c/o CLS-HSG, Leading House for Latin America
Büro 51-7004
Müller-Friedberg-Strasse 6/8
9000 St. Gallen

Rocío Robinson

PhD

Program Manager, Innovation Programs

GIMLA, c/o CLS-HSG, Leading House for Latin America / SSLAS
Büro 51-7004
Müller-Friedberg-Strasse 6/8
9000 St. Gallen

Andrea Güpfert

Administrator, Research Programs

GIMLA, c/o CLS-HSG, Leading House for Latin America
Büro 51-7004
Müller-Friedberg-Strasse 6/8
9000 St. Gallen

Leading House: Kurz und bündig

Im Leading-House-Modell werden ausgewählte Schweizer Hochschulen vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) beauftragt, im Rahmen der bilateralen Programme Kooperationsinstrumente für die Anschubfinanzierung und innovative Pilotprojekte einzurichten. Dies hat sich als ein nützliches und effizientes Format erwiesen, um privilegierte Kontakte zu knüpfen und neue Instrumente der Forschungs- und Innovationszusammenarbeit zu testen. Zwischen 2017 und 2020 wurden mehr als 500 Pilotforschungs- und Innovationsaktivitäten mit diesen neuen Ländern und Regionen gefördert. In Absprache mit der Rektorenkonferenz swissuniversities hat die Universität St.Gallen für den Zeitraum 2021 bis 2024 das Leading House in Lateinamerika (von der SERI Webseite) beauftragt.

Förderungsmöglichkeiten

Die Early Career Grants (ECG) zielen darauf ab, die Forschung in allen lateinamerikanischen Ländern zu fördern und Feldforschung in der Region zu unterstützen

Das Academia-Industry Training (AIT) ist ein Startup-Accelerator-Programm zur Förderung junger Wissenschaftler/innen aus der Schweiz, Brasilien, Kolumbien und Mexiko.

Das Ziel des Consolidation Grant (COG) ist es, fortgeschrittene, solide Projekte zu fördern, die die Lücke zwischen kleineren Instrumenten und größeren Förderaufrufen (z.B. SNF-Projekten) schließen.

Das Ziel der Forschungspartnerschaftsstipendien (RPG) ist es, den wissenschaftlichen Austausch zwischen Forschern aus schweizerischen und lateinamerikanischen Institutionen in allen Disziplinen zu stärken oder zu initiieren, indem sie ihnen ermöglichen, gemeinsam Vorlaufforschung zu betreiben und Treffen, Konferenzen oder Workshops zu organisieren.

Aktuelle Ausschreibungen

Der Early Career Grant (ECG), früher Mobilitätszuschuss genannt, richtet sich speziell an Nachwuchsforscher (PostDocs und Doktoranden). Es ermöglicht die Integration der nächsten Generation von Wissenschaftlern in die internationale Zusammenarbeit, hilft beim Aufbau neuer Netzwerke durch persönliche Kontakte und gegenseitiges Vertrauen und macht Partnerschaften nachhaltiger. Early Career Grants bieten eine Möglichkeit, Schweizer Forscher/innen zu ermutigen, ihre Studien mit einem Aufenthalt und Feldforschung in Lateinamerika zu bereichern, ohne Teil eines Teams oder einer akademischen Gruppe sein zu müssen. Das Stipendium ermöglicht einen Forschungsaufenthalt von bis zu drei Monaten.

  • für Projekte von bis zu CHF 7'000
  • Bewerbungung ab 24.11.2023 14h00 CET bis 31.01.2024 23h59 CET möglich
north